Gentoo

After more than 3 years I’m giving Gentoo another chance. The installation is VERY long, but the good thing is that you really learn something while installing.

It takes a lot of time, but lets hope it worth. Compiling the kernel was really fast, but lets see how it works when I install Gnome πŸ˜›

I just finished installing Gentoo, It tooke more than 10 hours to get it working, but finally I got it. I had a problem with Grub, but it’s ok πŸ™‚ of course I will forget to correct the error eeeevery time.

I’m asking myself right now: Why the hell I’m not playing Counter Strike:Source?? well, I’m allways thinking that I have to go to Evas appartment to get internet…so that’s why (I think)

Back to Gentoo. They could make the Portage more usefull, when you search, yo get like 5 or 6 lines for each program emerge found!!! (yes…for EACH).

It’s 17:30 and the Gnome installation has just begun… lets see a movie πŸ˜€

Update: Well, it has been already 2 hours and 10 minutes and still nothing, there is a lot of packages left to install, so I will have to wait maybe more than 2 hours (a lot more pherhaps)…who knows πŸ˜›

Another update: 4 hours now…i starting to hate this…its kind of anoying. Lets hope it’s going to finish soon…

Conclusion: I will never install Gentoo and will never suggest it to anyone else. 7 hours!!!!! is that logical? and it wasn’t that fast, so: shit!

Leave a comment

Filed under GNU/Linux, OpenSource

Leave a Reply

